2019 CMEA Bursary Winners

MCpl Richard accepting bursary cheque on behalf of Amy Bouchard (CWO Rondeau, Nicholas Bazinet-Deschamps, MCpl Richard and LCol Patry)
Publication Date 
12 Dec 2019

The Canadian Military Engineers Association (CMEA) is pleased to announce the following winners of the Bursary program 2019:

  • Simon Burgess (Wainwright)Maj (Ret’d) Peter Burgess (CMEA Chapter - Edmonton)​
  • Olivier Liam Pilon (Ottawa)Col Nick Pilon (CMEA Chapter - Ottawa)​
  • Emma Foreman (Cold Lake) WO Stephen Foreman (CMEA Chapter – Cold Lake)
  • Erica Paige Hawker (Petawawa) - WO John Hawker (CMEA Chapter - Petawawa)​
  • Janna Hotson-Richardson (Petawawa) – Sgt Randy Richardson (CMEA Chapter - Petawawa)​
  • Amy Richard (Valcartier) – MCpl Serge Richard (CMEA Chapter - Valcartier)​
  • Benjamin Stipkala (Edmonton) – Himself (CMEA Chapter - Edmonton)

These seven successful applicants will be presented a cheque for $1,500 towards their post-secondary academic program.

Applications were evaluated on a number of criteria including academic achievement, financial need, expressed future ambitions, and community involvement.  Policy guidelines and rules for eligibility can be found at:


The call for applications for the 2020 program will be going out in May 2020 by e-mail. All members of the CMEA are encouraged to take advantage of this opportunity to assist worthy individuals in the pursuit of their post-secondary education.  Since 2009, CMEA has presented a total of $90,500 in educational bursary.